A few things from Walker Art Gallery Liverpool

Slightly less sought-after than the Tate, the Walker Art Gallery in Liverpool’s Cultural Quarter has a small-but-gorgeous sculpture collection in its sun-warmed front room.  Having been on my sister’s hen do the night before (what else was I doing on my first trip to Liverpool?), I was t’rificly hungover, and so my sweat production levels were up, my drawing quality way down.  Still, this Greek helmet was lovely to gaze upon – I felt maybe Moebius had been stealing the beautiful curves and slick curls from these old Greek boys.

Walker

This Adam and Eve from Arthur G Walker (gallery namesake) himself made me laugh so much.  Adam’s bunched fist and strong back; Eve’s quivering, cowed posture and desperate gesture of flapping her hair round him – ayah!  Lucky it covered up his penis too – that would have been embarrassing.

The next drawing is of a sculpture I fell in love with in passing, then felt the resentment of silly convention bubbling up inside, so the drawing got progressively dopey-looking.  I liked their gay dancing poses though:

Walker2

 

detail

detail

And this plate from Piero Fornasetti finished it all off quite nicely:

PLate

 

Leave a Reply

