Presentation, presented in silence.

Here is the fairly shambolic attempt at the COP presentation, another to add to the pile I haven’t delivered to the class after relapses in the ol’ anxiety issues.

Presentation1

Some of the slides need expanding on, yes.  So let’s:

  1. This is me trying to create a flowchart of a kind, organising the bits of disparate thought.  Read away,
  2. This is introducing some of the topics from the flowchart – in another dimension I’d have talked them out a little in the presentation.
  3. Here, I was beginning to figure out where I wanted to drop my thinkin’ pins.
  4. This is a sentence, I’m sure of it.  I wanted to say something more about recovering from the trauma of abandonment issues after leaving the womb, and Freudian jazz like that.
  5. NGE – this, I was just going to try my best to explain coherently.  I wasn’t feeling too confident about that idea, but I had hoped the whole hype around having giant robots and mounds of archaic religious references would be enough to dazzle my audience, and that would be enough.
  6. Then this slide, which I would skillfully lead onto:
  7. Japan’s integration with technology, and more recent falling population, along with the idea that Anno’s anime comes from a subconscious connection with the zeitgeist of the time
  8. Look to my post on Masaaki Yuasa (I was winging this too).
  9. More winging – this sequence in Jan Svankmajer’s Faustus – just some reanimation fright through the medium of animation.
  10. Dancing Diana, from Conrad Shawcross – bringing robots into our arts scene, further infiltrating into extra aspects of our lives – marks the beginning of my research into robotics as a launchpad into automata.
  11. Just drawing – enjoying shapes.
  12. More drawing – having problems.
  13. Idea of future baby environment – thinking on replacing traditional mother figure with technology in very literal sense.
  14. Automaton idea.
Leave a Reply

